Jade Buddha Temple Courtyard

In the 1870s, Hui Gen, a Buddhist master from Pu Tuo Mountain in Zhejiang Province decided to make a pilgrimage to the Sacred Mountains of China. There are four mountains considered sacred to the Buddhist: Pu Tuo Shan, Jiu Hua Shan, Wu Tai, and E Mei Shan.

Pu Tuo Mountain in Zhejiang was Hui Gen's home monastery. It is dedicated to the Bodhisattva Guan-Yin. Presumably he had already been to Jiu Hua Shan in Anhui, dedicated to Bodhisattva Kshitigarbha because he set off to visit Wu Tai and E Mei. Wu Tai Shan, dedicated to Bodhisattva Manjushri is in Shanxi Province. Then he made his way to Sichuan Province and E Mei Shan, dedicated to Bodhisattva Samantabhadra. From Sichuan he traveled into the Himalayas to Tibet, the main source of Chinese Buddhism.

From there he made his way to India, probably passing through Nepal. In each place he visited monasteries and famous Buddha shrines. Finally he ended up in Burma, today's Myanmar.

China Index >> History of Shanghai and Suzhou Region >> Jade Buddha Temple

Click on a picture or use the arrows at the top to navigate through the site.

Last update: February 2007
© Marilyn Shea 1996, 1999, 2002, 2007